Top  Papers  Paper Tracks  Applications



The Web continues to be used in increasingly innovative ways. While other areas of the WWW 2005 refereed papers track focus on specific application areas (such as education or data-mining) or core infrastructure (such as performance and reliability), the Applications area considers novel Web applications not specifically covered by other areas.  For example, papers related to performance and scalability issues for the web should be sent to the performance/reliability track, while those focusing on applications issues for the web should be sent to the Applications track.

The Applications area particularly encourages contributions that are specific to an application domain, yet have high impact and value to a large audience. We seek submissions describing broadly applicable concepts, methods, tools, and systems, and that make clear how others can learn from a specific application.

The relevant topics include, but are not restricted to, the following:

  • Cellular Telephony and Web Applications
  • Components and distributed objects on or for the Web
  • Distributed authoring and versioning
  • Distributed Web services
  • Embedded Web applications
  • Grid computing on the Web
  • Impact of the Web on industrial sectors or practices
  • Instant messaging and other synchronous collaboration applications and services
  • Multimedia
  • Mobility support, Mobile Applications
  • Practice and experience in general
  • Sensor Networks and Web access and Control
  • Service Overlays
  • Ubiquitous computing and Internet appliances
  • Virtual reality on the Web
  • Web-based agent applications
  • Web-based application servers
  • Web-based application-level gateways
  • Web-based collaboration
  • Web-based management/control/configuration of systems
  • Web-based peer-to-peer applications

Vice/Deputy Chairs and PC Members

Vice Chair: Nina Bhatti (HP Labs)
Deputy Chair: Jonathan Trevor (Fuji-Xerox Palo Alto Laboratory)
PC Members:

  • Tarek Abdelzaher (University of Virgina)
  • Mostafa Ammar (Georgia Institute of Technology,)
  • Corin Anderson (Google)
  • Steve Hand (University of Cambridge)
  • Shahram Izadi (University of Nottingham)
  • Eyal de Lara (University of Toronto)
  • Jae Kyu Lee (KAIST)
  • John McCarthy (Uiversity College London)
  • Ketan Mayer-Patel (UNC Chapel Hill)
  • Andry Rakotonirainy (Queensland University of Technology)
  • Lakshmish Ramaswamy (Georgia Tech)
  • Matthew Richardson (Microsoft Research)
  • Gustavo Rossi (LIFIA-F.Informatica, UNLP)
  • Marcel Rosu (IBM TJ Watson Research Center)
  • Mirjana Spasojevic (HP Labs)
  • Matt Welsh (Harvard University)
  • Zhen Xiao (AT&T Research)