The Web consists of billions of pages containing insights and information regarding all endeavors of humankind.  This information is heterogeneous in language, style, focus, content, linking behavior, purpose, and format.  The search task is to bring together users and pertinent information from the corpus.  While search engines continue to improve the quality of their offerings, we anticipate ongoing substantive breakthroughs both within the keyword search paradigm and beyond it.  We welcome contributions related to any area of web search, including the following:

  • Citation analysis
  • Distributed and peer-to-peer search
  • Domain-specific search
  • Indexing
  • Link-based search techniques
  • Metasearch
  • Natural language interfaces to search
  • Personalized search
  • Query processing
  • Ranking
  • Search engine design and architecture
  • Search interfaces
  • Search query modeling
  • Search-based characterization of the web
  • Summarization

Vice/Deputy Chairs and PC Members

Vice Chair: Andrew Tomkins (IBM Almaden Research Center)
Deputy Chair: Junghoo Cho (University of California, Los Angeles)
PC Members:

  • Serge Abiteboul (INRIA)
  • Ricardo Baeza-Yates (University of de Chile)
  • Ziv Bar-Yossef (Technion)
  • Andrei Broder (IBM)
  • Eric Brown (IBM Watson)
  • Soumen Chakrabarti (IIT Bombay)
  • Kevin C. Chang (University of Illinois, Urbana Champaign)
  • Brian Davison (Lehigh)
  • Oren Etzioni (University of Washington)
  • Taher Haveliwala (Stanford)
  • Panagiotis Ipeirotis (New York University)
  • Thorsten Joachims (Cornell)
  • Nick Koudas (AT&T)
  • Ravi Kumar (IBM)
  • Frank McSherry (Microsoft)
  • Filippo Menczer (University of Indiana)
  • Alberto Mendelzon (Toronto)
  • Marc Najork (Microsoft)
  • Christopher Olston (Carnegie Mellon University)
  • Sridhar Rajagopalan (IBM)
  • Shiva Shivakumar (Google)
  • Torsten Suel (Polytechnic University, Brooklyn)
  • Panayiotis Tsaparas (University of Toronto)
  • Ji-Rong Wen (Microsoft Asia)
  • Jason Zien (IBM Almaden)