Top  Papers  Paper Tracks  Semantic Web

Semantic Web


The Semantic Web vision of the web involves the sharing and processing of data by automated tools as well as by people. The Web's full potential can only be reached when computers are better able to process the information available in it, to automatically integrate data from different sources, to perform actions on behalf of the user, and to search for information based on its meaning rather than its syntactic form. This vision requires new and advanced methods, models, tools, and systems for services related to creation, access, retrieval, integration, and filtering of Web-based content.

Quality contributions are solicited on the theoretical basis and foundations of the Semantic Web, the overall design of the Semantic Web, Semantic Web systems design, and application experience covering a range of topics and technologies needed to realise this vision, including (but not limited to):

  • Representations for the Semantic Web
  • Ontologies
  • Semantic Querying and Retrieval
  • Semantic Web Repositories
  • Information Integration
  • Semantic Web User Interfaces
  • Provenance, Trust & Security
  • Automated Reasoning
  • Semantic Annotation
  • Semantic Metadata
  • Emergent Semantics
  • Semantic Web Applications

As well as papers arising directly from Semantic Web research and experience, relevant papers are sought from a wide range of disciplines and communities which have a bearing on the Semantic Web, including (but not limited to):

  • Agents
  • AI
  • Databases
  • Digital libraries
  • Hypermedia
  • Information & Knowledge management
  • Information retrieval
  • Metadata management
  • Software engineering
  • Ubiquitous computing
  • Social Networks
  • Peer-to-Peer
  • Web Services
  • Grid

Vice/Deputy Chairs and PC Members

Vice Chair: Steffen Staab (University of Koblenz-Landau)
Deputy Chair: Ramanathan V. Guha (IBM Research)
PC Members:

  • Karl Aberer (EPFL)
  • Bill Andersen (OntologyWorks)
  • Richard Benjamins (ISOCO)
  • Paul Buitelaar (DFKI)
  • Chris Bussler (Deri)
  • Jeremy Carroll (HP Labs)
  • Fabio Ciravegna (University of Sheffield)
  • Jerome Euzenat (INRIA)
  • James Farrugia (University of Maine)
  • Enrico Franconi (Free University of Bozen-Bolzano)
  • Aldo Gangemi (CNR)
  • Yolanda Gil (ISI)
  • Fausto Giunchiglia (University of Trento)
  • Carole Goble (University of Manchester)
  • Linda Hardman (CWI)
  • Jane Hunter (DTSC)
  • Yannis Labrou (Fujitsu)
  • Bertram Ludascher (San Diego Supercomputer Center)
  • Alex Madche (Bosch Gmbh)
  • Sheila McIlraith (Univ. of Toronto)
  • Enrico Motta (The Open University)
  • Wolfgang Nejdl (University of Hannover)
  • Natasha Noy (Stanford University)
  • Peter Patel-Schneider (Bell Labs, US)
  • Dimitrix Plexousakis (ICS Forth)
  • Dennis Quan (IBM T.J. Watson)
  • Guus Schreiber (Vrije Universiteit Amsterdam)
  • Nigel Shadbolt (University of Southampton)
  • Amit Sheth (University of Georgia)
  • Heiner Stuckenschmidt (Free University Amsterdam)
  • Gerd Stumme (Univ. of Kassel)
  • Raphael Volz (Booz, Allen & Hamilton)
  • Marianne Winslett (UIUC)